Things to know about Integrated Railway Helpline | Fusion - WeRIndia

Things to know about Integrated Railway Helpline

Things to know about Integrated Railway Helpline

To redress passengers’ grievances and solve their problems during their journey, Indian Railways announced an integrated railway helpline, Rail Madad Helpline.

The single helpline number 139 will ease the help process. Hence, railways integrated all helplines into a single helpline number. Passengers can easily remember the number and seek the required help during their journey by connecting with the railways.

The Ministry of Railways launched a social media campaign to create awareness among the passengers on Rail Madad Helpline.

In the past, railways used different helpline numbers to address various problems. This process was difficult for passengers as they could not remember all these numbers. But, gradually, railways discontinued many numbers. Several helplines regarding grievances were withdrawn last year.

Now, railways decided to discontinue helpline number 182 and merge it with 139. The number will be withdrawn from April 1, 2021. After that, only a single helpline number, 139, will redress all the grievances of passengers.

The helpline number 139 will be available in 12 languages. Passengers can either directly talk to the call centre executive by pressing asterisk or select the Interactive Voice Response System (IVRS).

All mobile phone users, including normal mobile phone users, can connect with railways through their phones.

If passengers need security and medical assistance, they have to press 1 to connect to a call centre executive.

If passengers need journey related information, they have to press 2, which leads them to a sub-menu to choose their requirement. This information includes ticket booking, fare enquiry, PNR status, arrival or departure of the train, system ticket cancellation, wake up alarm facility or destination alert, accommodation, wheelchair booking, food services etc.

One has to press 4 for general complaints.

Passengers have to press 5 for vigilance related complaints and 6 for problems related to parcels and goods.

They need to press 7 for queries related to IRCTC operated trains.

One need to press 9 to know the status of complaints and asterisk to talk to a call centre executive.

Image by Portraitor from Pixabay (Free for commercial use)

Image Reference:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.