Delhi government’s Odd-Even Rule | Fusion - WeRIndia

Delhi government’s Odd-Even Rule

Delhi government’s Odd Even Rule

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal announced Odd-Even Rule again to control the pollution in the Nation’s capital. The rule would be implemented in the next month for 12 days from 4th November to 15th November.

The move would be taken after Diwali considering the air pollution in the region. Last year, Delhi’s air pollution level reached hazardous levels just two days before Diwali.

As per the odd-even rule, cars that have odd number plates will have to operate on odd number dates like 5, 7, 9, 11 and so on. The even-numbered cars will operate on even number days.

The rule will be effective from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on all days except Sundays. The fine for violators has been increased to ₹4,000 from the earlier ₹2,000.

All people including state cabinet ministers and officers will have to follow this rule. Though Union Ministers are exempted from this rule, it applies to Delhi state ministers including the Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Private CNG vehicles, all four-wheelers that are driven by men, vehicles of MLAs of other states and non-goods vehicles from other states should also have to follow this rule.

However, certain people are exempted from the odd-even rule.

Two-wheelers, women drivers either travelling alone or with a child up to 12 years of age, school vehicles that carry children in uniform during school timings, people with medical emergencies and vehicles of physically disabled people will be exempted from it.

In addition to that, the vehicles of the President of India, Vice President, Prime Minister, Governors, Chief Ministers of States and Union Territories, Union Ministers, Chief Justice Of India and judges of Supreme Court and Delhi High Court, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha Leaders of Opposition, UPSC Chairperson, Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commissioners, Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG), Lokayukta, Lieutenant Governor of Delhi and Emergency enforcement vehicles, are all exempt.


Image Reference:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.