Significance of Godavari Maha Pushkaram - Fusion - WeRIndia

Significance of Godavari Maha Pushkaram

Significance of Godavari Maha Pushkaram

Pushkaram or Pushkar is an Indian festival devoted to the worshipping of rivers for 12 days. There are twelve sacred rivers and each river is linked to a specific zodiac sign and the Pushkaram starts for that river when the transit of Jupiter is in that zodiac sign.

Pushkar schedule starts with River Ganges, the holy river when Jupiter enters into Mesha (Aries), the first zodiac sign. Now, Jupiter enters into Simha (Leo), hence Godvarri Pushram starts. Godavari Pushkar is celebrated for 12 days starting from July 14. It ends by July 25. The first 12 days of Pushkaram are believed to be the most sacred days and are called “Aadi Pushkaram” and the last 12 days are called “Anthya Pushkaram”. The Pushkar is similar to Kumbh Mela. But the Kumbh Mela is celebrated from July 14 to September 25 in Nasik.

This year Godavari Maha Pushkaram is celebrated. It comes for every 144 years. The next Maha Pushkaram will be in 2159.

It is estimated that around 50 million people from all over the country will participate in this Pushkar in Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Telangana. Pilgrims take holy dips and baths in River Godavari, the second longest river in India, and visit the temples at the bank of the River.

Pushkar bath is considered to be holy and is said to cleanse the inner selves. It opens up a way to live righteously as well. Several religious rituals are also performed in memory of their ancestors. People also give charity in these days. It is believed that different charities are to be given in different days. It is as follows:

  1. Gold, silver, land and rice are to be given on the first day.
  2. Precious stones, cow and lamb are to be given on second day.
  3. Vegetables, fruits and jaggery are to be given on third day.
  4. Ghee, oil, honey and milk are to be given on fourth day.
  5. Bull, oxen, cart and plough are to be given on fifth day.
  6. Sandal, camphor and medicines are to be given on sixth day.
  7. House, litter and bed are to be given on seventh day.
  8. Tuberous crops, ginger and flower garland are to be given on eighth day.
  9. Blankets and rugs are to be given on ninth day.
  10. Pearl and flowers are to be given on 10th day.
  11. Cloths, sesame seeds and books are to be given on 11th day.
  12. Shaligram is to be given on 12th day.

Alternatively money can be given on all the 11 days. But, there is no alternative to Shaligram.

Image Reference: Tirumalahills

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>