Indian government approves EV charging stations | Fusion - WeRIndia

Indian government approves EV charging stations

Indian government approves EV charging stations

The Indian government has launched FAME India (Faster Adoption and Manufacture of (Hybrid and) Electric Vehicles) Scheme to promote electric and hybrid vehicles in the country.

In order to encourage manufacturing companies to launch new electric vehicle models, the Indian government approved to establish more than 2,500 charging stations across 24 states and union territories in the country.

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar on Friday said that the government decided to set up 2,636 charging stations in 62 cities in different states and union territories throughout the country.

FAME India scheme operates in two phases. The first phase was started in 2015 and completed in the first quarter of 2019.

The second phase started in April 2019 and will be completed by March 2022.

These charging stations will be deployed by the entities for Phase II operations.

The Department of Heavy Industry had invited the businesses that are interested in availing the incentives under the FAME India Scheme Phase II for deploying charging stations across the country.

So far, as many as 106 proposals were received from public/private entities for the deployment of around 7,000 EV charging stations in the country.

The selected entities will be issued sanction letters in phases. They will have to sign the necessary agreements with concerned partners like oil companies or municipal corporations.

Maharashtra will have the highest number of EV charging stations followed by Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.

317 EV charging stations have been sanctioned in Maharashtra with 266 in Andhra Pradesh and 256 in Tamil Nadu.

Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan will have 228, 207 and 205.

Other states like Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Telangana, Kerala and Bihar will also have some charging stations.

Chandigarh, Haryana, Delhi, Sikkim, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Uttarakhand, Puducherry and Himachal Pradesh are the remaining areas that will have charging stations.
Image Credit:- Photo by Jan Kaluza on Unsplash  (Free for commercial use)

Image Reference:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.