Awards and things to know about Republic Day 2021 | Fusion - WeRIndia

Awards and things to know about Republic Day 2021

Awards and things to know about Republic Day 2021

India is celebrating 72nd Republic Day tomorrow. However, due to COVID-19, this year’s celebrations are different from the regular R-Day celebrations.

The number of spectators to this year’s Republic Day Parade have been restricted to 25,000 people while the normal number of people participating in the event is more than one lakh.

The incredible motorcycle stunts are a major attraction at Republic Day celebrations. However, there won’t be motorcycle stunts this year.

The number of media representatives has also been reduced to 200 from 300.

To adhere to COVID-19 protocols and maintain social distancing, the parade would not have gallantry awardees and children who have earned bravery awards. Children under 15 years are not allowed to join the celebrations.

This is the first time for the country in 50 years to organize the Republic Day parade without a chief guest. In the past also there were certain times that India did not have a chief guest. They were in the years of 1952, 1953 and 1966.

Though the government wants to invite British PM Boris Jonhson for the Republic Day parade of this year, it cancelled its decision due to the outbreak of a new COVID strain in the UK.

Also, various people from different fields are felicitated on Republic Day.

Here is a list of such honours and awards:

  • The Gallantry Awards are given to military personnel. There are six awards in this field while the highest is the Param Vir Chakra. This award is given for displaying acts of valour during wartime.
  • The Padma Awards are the highest civilian awards given to distinguished people of various categories based on their achievement. There are three awards, the highest being Padma Vibhushan. The next two awards Padma Bhushan and Padma Sri.
  • The President Police Medals are given to police and law enforcement personnel. There are three medals: One is given for meritorious, another is for distinguished service, and the last is for gallantry.
  • Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar is given to children between the ages of 5 and 18 who showed exceptional achievement in six different categories. These include sports, innovation, social service, scholastic, arts and science, and bravery.
  • The President’s fire medals are given to fire personnel. These include two medals, gallantry and distinguished service.
  • Home guards and Civil Defence personnel are also honoured with President’s medals for their meritorious service.
  • Jeevan Raksha Padak awards are given in three categories to honour civilians, law enforcement and defence personnel, involved in saving the lives of people from drowning, fire accidents, electrocutions or in other rescue operations.

Image by Murthy SN from Pixabay (Free for commercial use)

Image Reference:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *