Karnataka Speaker disqualifies rebels | Fusion - WeRIndia

Karnataka Speaker disqualifies rebels

Karnataka Speaker disqualifies rebels

Unexpectedly, Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified 14 more rebels, 11 from Congress and 3 from JDS. Earlier, three rebel Congress MLAs had been disqualified by him on July 25.

This brings the total number of disqualified MLAs to 17. The disqualified MLAs can neither be made minister nor can they contest in a by-election for the current assembly.

These MLAs have been disqualified by the Speaker under the anti-defection law till the end of the current term of the House in 2023.

These 14 MLAs are going to challenge their disqualification in the Supreme Court saying it is against the law.

One of the rebel MLAs, A.H. Vishwanath said that the Speaker is also an MLA first and he seems to have sided with political parties.

The new Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa is going to take the trust vote today. The strength of the BJP is 105 which is equal to the simple majority. Moreover, independent MLA, H. Nagesh is supporting it. Hence, the party is confident in passing the floor test.

The Speaker said that the session will be convened at 11:00 a.m. Monday.

However, BJP wants to cripple the Speaker to prevent further disqualifications by proposing a resolution under Article 179 (C) of the Constitution.

If the resolution is passed by the majority, the Speaker can be removed from his office.

However, a 14-day notice period is needed to move such a resolution as per the clause. After the move is initiated, the Speaker cannot disqualify anyone and thus limits his power.

Article 181 of the Constitution states that the Speaker shall not preside over the House and the Deputy Speaker can handle the role of the Speaker.

Image credit: Vidhana Soudha image by Börkur Sigurbjörnsson is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Image Reference: https://www.flickr.com/photos/borkurdotnet/3802787473

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *