The PM test | Fusion - WeRIndia

The PM test

The PM test

Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Morarji Desai Gulzarilal Nanda and Atal Bihari Vajpayee are the seven PMs of India who won a Bharat Ratna.

The decision of P.V. Narasimha Rao to honour Desai with the highest civilian award was to show defiance to the Congress party line as Desai headed the Janata administration, India’s first non-congress government.

Manmohan Singh followed suite here and asked at least two of his predecessors Rao and Vajipayee be given the award.

Rao gave Padma Vibushan to Vajpayee with whom he always had a special relationship. Rao had even deputed Vajpayee as leader of the Indian Delegation to the special session of the United Nations Human Rights Commission in Geneva. In this convention a Pakistan sponsored resolution to censure India about is human rights in Jammu and Kashmir was held. The issue was successfully destroyed at the convention.

The decision of Rao to put Vajpayee at Geneva wasn’t supported by everyone. Even the then MoS External Affairs was upset to work under Vajpayee in Geneva. Rao was succeeded by Vajpayee in the year 1996 after BJP came out as the single largest party in general election.

Image Credit:- “Wastewater samples” by  Jhon Don is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Image Reference:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.