Heritage status given by UGC to 19 colleges | Fusion - WeRIndia

Heritage status given by UGC to 19 colleges

Heritage status given by UGC to 19 colleges

In order to protect college campuses which are aged more than a hundred years old, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has granted “heritage” status to 19 establishments across the country.

These 19 establishments that were approved will receive money assistance for their improvement and upgrading.

As part of the preserving process, the Commission had invited proposals from colleges for the heritage tag under the Heritage college scheme. The UGC received 60 proposals from various colleges, none of them from Delhi. A selection committee was made which chose 19 colleges tut of the sixty proposals that were received.

In order to help these colleges, money assistance has been approved to them and they will use the grants for conservation work of the campus and for specialised courses associated with heritage. The colleges that are granted the status include: CMS College Kottayam; St. Joseph College, Trichy; St.Xavier’s college, Mumbai; Khalsa College, Amritsar; St. Bedes college, Shimla; Christ Church College in Kanpur; old Agra College, Agra; Meerut College; Meerut and Langat Singh college in Bihar’s Muzaffarpur. Some others in the list are: Government Brennan college, Kerala; University college in Mangalore, Cotton College in Guwahati, Midnapore college in West Bengal, Government medical science in Jabalpur, Deccan Education Society’s Fergusson college in Pune, Hislop college in Nagpur, Govt.

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash (Free for Commercial Use)

Image Reference: https://unsplash.com/photos/jCIMcOpFHig

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *