305 cities and towns identified for the Housing for all project | Fusion - WeRIndia

305 cities and towns identified for the Housing for all project

305 cities and towns identified for the ‘Housing for all’

305 cities and towns have been identified by the housing ministry to start building houses for the poor in urban areas. These cities and towns were chosen from across nine states. This is part of the government program ‘Housing for all’. The aim of this project is to provide houses for two crore families who belong to the economically weaker section (EWS) in urban areas. The government wants to finish this project by 2022.

The nine states that are to be benefited by this project are Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Jharkhand, Rajasthan and Telangana. Furthermore, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Uttarakhand have agreed to six key reforms for clearances and approval for housing projects to fasten their construction.

The Housing for All project was launched on June 25. A housing ministry official has stated that the states agreeing to the condition and signing of agreements with the Centre is encouraging for the project. He added that 15 states have signed the agreement.

In the MoAs, the mandatory reforms include getting rid of the requirement of separate non-agricultural permission in case land is under the residential zone earmarked in any city master plan and amending plans earmarking land for affordable housing. Another mandatory reform is to get rid of need for approvals below certain built up area or plot size for EWS and low income groups.

Foto di PIRO4D da Pixabay (Free for Commercial Use)

Image Reference: https://pixabay.com/it/illustrations/grattacielo-grattacieli-costruzione-1893201/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *