Facts about fourth phase elections | Fusion - WeRIndia

Facts about fourth phase elections

Facts about fourth phase elections

As you know, polling is done in seven phases for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The fourth phase of elections is today.

Here are some important facts about the fourth phase of elections:

  • 72 parliamentary constituencies are part of this fourth phase elections.
  • Among these, the ruling BJP and its allies won 56 seats in 2014 elections. The Congress won only two seats in that election and the remaining 14 had gone to other parties like Trinamool Congress and the Biju Janata Dal.
  • Hence, these constituencies are very important for the ruling party.
  • 17 seats in Maharashtra, 13 each in Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, eight seats in West Bengal, six seats each in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, five seats in Bihar, three seats in Jharkhand, and one seat Jammu and Kashmir are part of today’s elections.
  • Out of 54 seats in both Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, 52 had gone to the BJP in 2014 elections. The elections in these states will be conducted in four phases starting from the fourth phase.
  • Another important point is that the Congress won the Assembly elections in 2018 in both these states.
  • So far, the polling in 302 seats has been finished in the first three phases. The polling in 168 seats will be completed in the last three phases.
  • Some of the popular politicians in the fourth phase of elections include Giriraj Singh, S S Ahluwalia, Subhash Bhamre, and Babul Supriyo from the BJP, and Salman Khurshid, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, and Urmila Matondkar from the Congress.
  • The Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra would be finished with this phase.
  • Jodhpur in Rajasthan became one of the most talked about seats in this phase due to the tough fight between the Congress and the BJP.

Image credit: Photo W-0843L image by Public.Resource.Org is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Image Reference: https://www.flickr.com/photos/publicresourceorg/27488215726

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *