Bihar CM Nitish Kumar sets record | Fusion - WeRIndia

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar sets record

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar sets record

Nitish Kumar, the Bihar Chief Minister submitted his resignation day before yesterday, but again swore as the new CM yesterday in dramatically turned conditions.

The Janata Dal United (JDU) leader Nitish Kumar submitted his resignation to governor after breaking the grand alliance with Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress.

Soon after resignation, the conditions turned favorably for him. The BJP extended its support to him praising his ‘bold decision’ against corruption.

Nitish Kumar claimed that he tried his level best to save the alliance but it was in vain. On the other hand, the RJD leaders and the Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi criticized him as an ‘opportunist’ for joining hands with the BJP for the sake of power.

Within less than 24 hours of time from resignation and quitting the Grand Alliance, Nitish Kumar started his second innings as the Chief Minister. The resignation and the swearing-in within two days caught the attention of media.

As soon as he submitted his resignation to Governor and quitted from ‘Mahabandhan’, the BJP came forwarded to support him.

Nitish Kumar again swore-in as the new CM of Bihar with extended support of BJP. He created a record with his fresh swearing-in ceremony. With this, Nitish Kumar became the only political leader to have taken oath as the CM of a state for the maximum times i.e. six times in a period of 12 years.

There are very few CMs that served for more than two or three times.

In addition to Nitish Kumar, J Jayalalithaa, the late Tamil Nadu Chief Minister also swore-in as the Chief Minister of the state but in a period of 25 years.

Naveen Patnaik, Odisha Chief Minister and the BJD leader has served office for four times.

Nitish Kumar has to prove his majority in the Assembly today.

Image credit: Nitish-kumar-cm-620×400 image by BMN Network is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Image Reference:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.